Protect The Beat Logo
Jazz Funk Fusion

Protect The Beat is:

Derek Nash - sax (Jools Holland, Dave Grusin, Sax Appeal)
Winston Blissett - bass (Massive Attack, Jeff Lorber)
Tim Cansfield - guitar (Steve Winwood, Annie Lennox, Ray Charles)
Arden Hart - keys & trumpet - (Bootsy Collins, Massive Attack)
Darby Todd - drums (Dennis Rollins, Disney's Lion king).

Welcome to Protect The Beat; 5 of the finest Jazz Funk Experts you are likely to find! Based in London, the band now in it's 8th year has been described in the music press as "The strongest live act within the genre in the UK at this time".

With numerous Festival appearances  over the years including The Capitol Jazz Festival (USA) in 2005  and 2 memorable  shows at Brecon Jazz in 2008 & 2009 PTB have certainly left an impression with their inimitable brand of aggressive Jazz/Funk. To quote the title of their debut album, "It ain't Dinner Jazz".

PTB's latest CD 'Intrepid' was picked up favorably by digital radio station 'The Jazz' in 2008 and as the result of committed airplay the album went to number 1 in an independent UK Jazz Chart. 'Intrepid' remained at the number 1 spot for 11 weeks!

Intrepid is still now available from  and of course at live venues.

2010 has been the 1st quiet year for 'PTB' 'live shows'  with most of the guys occupied with previous contract commitments. Winston away touring with 'Massive'. Derek out with Jools and Darby touring with both Justin Hawkins and now ex John Mayall guitarist Buddy Whittington. The good news is that live shows are coming back into the fold so expect next year to feature many more gigs.

Contact Protect The Beat by E-mail

Protect The Beat Intrepid Front Cover

Protect The Beat Intrepid Back Cover

Intrepid Sampler MP3 (7Mb)
Jazz Funk Fusion

Cookie use on this site  |  Copyright Protect The Beat 2017